Today we were able to donate a van full of food to the St. Vincent de Paul Society. Yay!

It all started when I dragged Terry Chay, kicking and screaming, to BarCampBlock last weekend. We had a fun time there and while walking over to The Blue Chalk Cafe for BarCampBlock’s party Terry mentioned Lunch 2.0 was going to be at Spock on Wednesday, today. Spock is in Redwood City, so I decided that wasn’t too far for me to drive for a chance to go to Lunch 2.0. So, I said I would go.

Then wheels started turning in my head and I got this bright idea. I started wondering if there would be leftover food after Lunch 2.0, and if there was, I was thinking we should donate that food to a local food kitchen. So, I asked Terry if there is usually leftover food after a Lunch 2.0. He said that sometimes there is. So, I offered my suggestion of donating that food.  I thought it was brilliant because food wouldn’t be wasted and the people in the community who need it most can get it.

So, today I went to Lunch 2.0 at Spock. I talked with a bunch of really nice people. Toward the end of lunch, Terry mentioned that there was quite a lot of salad leftover and a few boxes of pizza. He then suggested that we donate the food and introduced the CEO of Spock, Jaideep Singh, to me. Of course, I had no idea where we were going to donate the food. So, one of the other Lunch 2.0ers, Peter Robinett, suggested that we take it to the St. Vincent de Paul Society. It was an excellent suggestion. So, we loaded up a lot of boxes of food in Peter’s van. Here’s the proof…

Giving 2.0

Giving 2.0

(Those boxes in the back seat are boxes of salad. There were a lot of boxes.)

Giving 2.0

(Four gigantic boxes of pizza were sitting in the front seat.)

And we took the food to St. Vincent de Paul and got a donation receipt for Spock.

Tax deductible food that gets eaten by people who need it the most in the community! What can be better. Thank you Spock and Lunch 2.0.

